What's new

Smoking...

Does anyone here smoke cigarettes? Has anyone successfully quit?

I've been smoking for about five years now. I'm not sure why I do it, because I really don't enjoy it that much. I know it's cliche to say it, but I don't think I'm addicted.

It's done a lot of damage to my skin, though, and I'm young - dryness, lines, clogged pores, blackheads, etc.

I have a tendency to quit every summer and then start again in the fall. I think I'll try and quit for good this time.

Mind over matter. You've made the decision. Now....figure out how much you spend on smokes, determine what that would buy in brushes, razors, cream or soaps, and put your willpower to work! Just picture that new brush in your shave den...nothing to it!

Randy

That's true. Very true.

I'm a very emotional person. Smoking is my way of balancing myself when I get frustrated, angry, sad, etc. It doesn't do a whole lot, but it calms me just a little.

Still, you have a point. And the bigger point is that it's killing me. I'll have to find another way to cope. Like attacking people on the street. Or wrestling bears.

I smoked as an undergrad, after I quit playing sports. Many people disagree but IMO (and for me personally) it was a matter of making a decision and sticking to it. I never wanted to mess with patches or gum because it was just something else to get hooked on. You've made up your mind, stick to your guns, you can do this. Be strong. :thumbup:

I started smoking (a pipe; when I was 10 my mother made me promise her to never smoke cigarettes) about five years ago. I continue smoking partly because pipe tobacco (and the occasional cigar) tastes really good, and partly for political reasons. I'm also a big fan of mentholated snuff.

I don't imagine I'm addicted; I never smoke on Shabbas and have been known to forget to smoke for days at a time. Still, until my gov't decides to recind their anti-choice smoking laws, I'll be a smoker.

S

sullivanpm