What's new

Greetings from NAS Pensacola

Greetings to all the members here. I suppose a brief shaving history of myself is due. In the past I would shave with a disposable (Mach III for a bit and a Schick Quattro in bootcamp) using Gillette's gel. I suppose it was a decent shave at the time, it removed the stubble appearing on my face: that was until I was browsing around Target. When I was at Target I stumbled upon Prorasso and gave that a whirl and boy was it night and day. My shave felt, smelt, and looked better. The blade glided and cut much easier. I took a brief break when I went to Marine Corps bootcamp where I would reunite with Gillette and proceed to tear my face apart because the limited time we had to shave. Now that I am a Marine and in student status I have more than enough time to get a good shave in the morning. I recently purchased Nancy Boy and utilized it this morning leaving me with a shaving experience I will look forward to tomorrow.
My father has been wanting to get an old-school (please don't thrash me if that is not the correct term, I am unfamiliar with all the shaving jargon) razor because he has been using throw-aways ever since I can recall looking in his bathroom drawers. So I purchased him the sample kit of razors from westcoastshaving and a Merkur Razor from Taize Shears.
Now I am on a quest to achieve the ultimate shave because it is very critical here. A man's credibility and image can be made or broken by his shave. So I request to know, what would be a good razor to start off and if I too should seek the sample of razors from westcoastshaving. Thank you all, I look forward to your advice and counsel.

Welcome. And you should definitely get a blade sampler pack. Which blade will turn out to be best for you is hard to predict---you just have to try them:

In the US: here and here.
In the UK.

By consensus, the best razor for the beginner is the Merkur Hefty Classic ("HD"): straightforward and excellent to learn with.