What's new

sharper blade than Derby's

I have been using Derbys for my last few shaves but am not finding them sharp enough - even compared to the standard Merkur blades I got with my Futur.

I have received a sample pack with Treet, Wilkinson Sword, Nacet and a couple of different Gillette blades. Can anyone clarify which of those are sharper than Derbys?

Unfortunately I cannot seem to find anyone in the UK that sells Feathers :frown:

Many thanks in advance, you helpful bunch :closedeye

I'm still quite new to this, but I believe the Derby IS the sharpest blade next to a Feather. Also, while I do like Merkur blades, I believe Derby's are quite a bit sharper.

Not sure what Gillettes you have there. Swedish Gillettes seem to be between Feathers and Derbys in terms of sharpness. My take on it anyway...

If you can find them, you may consider Crystal blades. They are a tad sharper than Derbys but not sharper than Feathers. I believe Crystal blades are the same as Israeli Personnas.

Not sure what Gillettes you have there. Swedish Gillettes seem to be between Feathers and Derbys in terms of sharpness. My take on it anyway...

I will read more and post less.
:biggrin:

:biggrin:

Not at all...blades are such a YMMV thing. As you can see, Austin feels the IPs (Crystals) are sharper than the Derbys. The best thing to do is try them all out and see what works for you.

Not at all...blades are such a YMMV thing. As you can see, Austin feels the IPs (Crystals) are sharper than the Derbys. The best thing to do is try them all out and see what works for you.

I know. Just close to quitting time and in a bit of a wonky mood!!:sneaky2:

If you can find them, you may consider Crystal blades. They are a tad sharper than Derbys but not sharper than Feathers. I believe Crystal blades are the same as Israeli Personnas.

+1
Top 3 on my face: Feather, Crystal (or IP), Derby - Derby being the smoothest and most forgiving.