What's new

Parker 51 Fountain Pen

I just bought one of these, as I hear it is a highly regarded vintage pen. Here is the auction link:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...MEWN:IT&viewitem=&item=230141711393&rd=1&rd=1
I'm thinking I probably paid too much, but oh well! :biggrin:
I'm a FP newbie, just a Pelikano on my desk, so I would appreciate any tips or comments. Like, are there any inks I should avoid? And, how do you fill it? Any little tricks or techniques? Should I buy pens as if they were razors, and I have to try all of them? :scared:

Norm

I just bought one of these, as I hear it is a highly regarded vintage pen. Here is the auction link:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...MEWN:IT&viewitem=&item=230141711393&rd=1&rd=1
I'm thinking I probably paid too much, but oh well! :biggrin:
I'm a FP newbie, just a Pelikano on my desk, so I would appreciate any tips or comments. Like, are there any inks I should avoid? And, how do you fill it? Any little tricks or techniques? Should I buy pens as if they were razors, and I have to try all of them? :scared:

Norm

I suggest a visit to Fountainpennetwork.com. Use water base inks, Noodlers and Private Reserve are about the best. I am a Sheaffer person but I believe this is vaccum filled pen. The sac is depressed either by hand or a button at the end of the barrel. The end of the barrel unscrews to give access to this button. I think I am not sure. While the sac is squeezed dip the tip in the ink bottle and release the button. Hold nib in ink for about 10 seconds. The action of releasing the sac will "vaccum" ink into the sac. Maybe a Parker aficionado will chime in and correct if I am wrong. Nice pen!!

Raf

Even more informative would be a trip to www.richardspens.com and go to the reference section, where you can learn about the Vacumatic Filling System, which is what this pen is fitted with. You would no doubt have paid less for a Parker 51 with an Aerometric Filling System (both systems work just fine).