What's new

Dangerous Question, I think. Why Bother Washing Rinsing and Drying a Shaving Brush?

I'm a little worried that this may be a dangerous question to ask, but here goes anyway...

Why bother rinsing, and drying a shave brush? :glare:

Doesn't it just get re-wetted with the soap that is on it, the next time it's used?

Go easy on me... I'm new to this...

Well... The soap scum left on it means that the brush will repel water.

And if you leave it damp, you are asking for something to rot, particularly in humid areas in the warmer months.

The popular opinion is that it is better for the hair in the long term to be rinsed of excess lather and allowed to dry. If your brush isn't completely dry before the next time you use it, it isn't going to ruin the brush, but its just something to strive for.

Some old timers left lather in, and their brushes lasted for decades. But I think most people would agree its better to rinse and dry them. If nothing else, you're going to want to rinse the old stuff out before you make a new lather, unless you like old bits of crusty lather in your new one.

Think of a brush as a wine glass. You're going to put wine in it again when you are done drinking right? So why wash it? Because you don't want the remnants of the previous wine (soap in this case) left in the glass. Plus, not doing so would be kinda gross.

P

Pjotr

On the other hand someone here posted that after applying lather his dad or granddad left his brush standing upside down on the puck ready for use the next time. No cleaning, flushing out lather etc. The brush lasted years apparently. I wouldn't do it but if it's the life of your brush you're concerned with it appears, based on this evidence, that you probably needn't worry too much about cleaning and drying.

I always rinse my brush after I shave, remove the excess water and place it upside down on a stand. This has worked very well for me over the years.

Al raz.