What's new

Good product for ingrown hairs?

S

Sfarshchian

Hi all, first time posting here at B&B.

I've been wetshaving for a few months now and have been really enjoying the experience. Cartridges were leaving my skin feeling on fire, so I was really excited when I got a much less irritating shave with a DE. My current setup is a Parker 71r loaded with a Merkur or Feather, Proraso white soap and Proraso pre/post as an aftershave. This worked pretty well for me all winter. Now that I'm back in my summer job (short order chef - constant grease and sweat all over my face), I've been forced to shave daily and I'm finding this usually leaves my skin pretty irritated. Being of Middle Eastern descent, my hair is coarse and wiry and this tends to lead to ingrown hairs. So my question is: does anyone have any recommendations for an aftershave that will help combat ingrown hairs and irritation, preferably within the budget range of a college student?

Much appreciated.

My old college roommate swears by just digging ingrown hairs out with tweezers or a box knife. That would be pretty cheap.

I recently had some issues with some ingrown hairs left over from before I switched to DE. Using a soft dry toothbrush to rub over the ingown helps loosen it. I was also using Bump Patrol right after shaving prior to putting on a regular aftershave. It took a few weeks to clear up, but that's what worked for me. Hope it helps.

Mentos Ultra Facial Conditioiner is very reasonable but you do have to get it from a barber supply so you might have a shipping cost unless you can find it in town.

My old college roommate swears by just digging ingrown hairs out with tweezers or a box knife. That would be pretty cheap.

thats what ive done.