What's new

anyone given up on using shampoo

with chemicals in it? has anyone tried using natural soap on their hair and following that with an apple cider vinegar rinse? I heard from some that using natural soap on hair is a better alternative to shampoo. can you also moisturize your hair with an oil like jojoba or olive oil after you wash your hair with natural soap?

I use Dr. Bronner's liquid soap, it's 100% pure castile soap (made from olive oil). I've been showering every other day to every three days for the past several years and I've been very satisfied.

rockviper

I got moves like Jagger
I buzz my head with either no clipper guard or a #2, so shampoo seems a waste of $$ for me. I'd rather feed my soap'n'cream AD. :tongue_sm

My SWMBO uses a Moroccan Oil after she washes her hair as a moisturizer/conditioner. I was considering trying it out as a pre-shave oil

Shampoo bars are ok. I just started using Kiehl's Thickening Shampoo and it's been working really well. I have never tried washing with a bar of soap and i do not plan to. However, it is an old school method and would probably work well if you cannot find a shampoo that you like. I thought about doing that, too, but I tried a few different shampoos and this Kiehl's stuff is good. I'll stick with it. I have read in GQ about apple cider vinegar being good for dry/itchy scalp. Here's what Mr. Glenn O'Brien said, "I'm also a fan of Bragg Organic Raw Unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar. Mix it with water fifty-fifty and rinse your hair with it after you shampoo. The funky, fungoid-looking stuff contains enzymes that will treat your scalp and give your hair nice texture." I plan to give it a try during the colder months. Natural herbal hair masks work great, too. I use "Hair Doctor" from Lush every now and then.

Same story here.

Read the posts by Richgem on shampoobars.
Tried them and was hooked.