What's new

permanent razor rash?

Hi guys,

I am a newbie from Istanbul (that's where Arko comes :001_rolle). Firstly, thanks for the loads of useful info here. I am starting to get better and better shaves with time, I also kind of enjoy it.

One question though: My skin has become more sensitive in the last few years due to stress and I stupidly shaved against the grain once. Unfortunately, I still have marks on my face due to that particular mistake. They are healing but they won't go away. In addition, I feel that there is discoloration on my neck as well. It looks slightly red in many areas on my neck. I need to get close to mirror to see them but most of the ladies are that detail oriented :001_smile.

Do you know of any method to cure the permanent marks and the slight redness on the neck?

Thanks in advance guys!

JCinPA

The Lather Maestro
Welcome! I am going to let the more experienced fellows offer you advice, I'm pretty new to DE shaving to be offering advice here, but you have definitely come to the right place for an answer!

Good luck!

Welcome to the B!

How long has the rash been there? On occasion (like yesterday), I get various cuts and nicks with straight razor shaving. These spots and slices bleed very little and sting a bit, but invariably they look worse on the second day. Sometimes the marks last for a week or two ... one slice was visible for much longer. They have all faded with time, just like my memory! Ha!

JCinPA

The Lather Maestro
I will wade in here. I have not been DE shaving very long, but I have been shaving for 32 years and I've had rashes before. Now that I think about it, the DE should give you less irritation than what you were using before. I know I am getting less irritation than I got with the Fusion cartridge.

The rash could be sensitive skin, poor shaving technique, an alergic reaction to a product, all sorts of things.