What's new

My new grill.

I posted in this thread that I got a new bbq. Today it came. an extra large Big Green Egg with a table.

I purchased it used, because it cost a less then a third of what I would have paid for it new. It needs a little TLC.

proxy.php

This is after some cleaning and moving it into my backyard. I have more TLC planned for it, but this is all its getting for today because I needed to get dinner going.

proxy.php

full

Chicken and potatoes.

full

The chicken looks like it might be burnt, it isn't. I used two different rubs on the chicken, Dizzy Dust on half and my own blend on the other half, both are pretty dark rubs. The potatoes have oil, salt, pepper and granulated garlic on the skin. I have never cooked potatoes on a grill before, they were excellent.

full

full

I have never used a ceramic cooker or grill before. It was surprising how quickly it got hot and how well it maintained the heat. I actually had a hard time keeping it below 400 F. As I get more experience with the grill that won't be a problem.

Tomorrow night it will either be chicken breasts or some pork butt I have in the freezer.

Saturday I'm going to put it through the paces. I'll either do a brisket using the hot and fast method or two chuck roasts, along with corn on the cob, and I might do baked beans on the Egg.

The previous owner didn't clean it out and it still had a bunch of lump charcoal in it. I cleaned out the ash and added three lumps of apple wood to give my chicken a nice smokey flavor.

I can safely say that this was an excellent purchase. With the plate setter it was ridiculous easy to cook the chicken with indirect heat and it was delicious!

Last edited by a moderator:
Congratulations!

Here is a good site to read all about cooking with ceramics.

http://www.nakedwhiz.com/ceramic.htm