What's new

What do you put on the Wool Felt strop?

I am relatively new to STR8 shaving and have been using a Dovo 2" strop with regualr leather and linen parts. I put TI strop paste on the linen side and it seems to work well for me.
Now I have ordered a new strop that has wool felt instead of linen. DO you just leave the wool "clean", or do you use some paste (or diamond spray)?

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
Dont spray too much or it will swell on you, or so it has been said. I just stay a few inches away and spritz it evenly, around 3 pumps.

I have two of the HS felt strops.

One is unpasted and used only to dry my razors post-shave. The other is pasted with CrOx and 0.25 micron diamond mixed. I've never been able to get the pasted strop to improve any of my edges. If anything, it seems to degrade the edges.

I usually do sets of five light laps on the strop. After each step, I test the edge.

I wish I could get it to work. It would come in really handy.

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
I made a 2 sided paddle with .5 and .25 on them. I do ten laps each with light pressure, followed by crox on balsa to tame the edge a bit. Seems to work great on touchups....ymmv.

I don't have any diamond spray or crox on hand, so I did a little looking around for alternative solutions...and heard that Mothers works. So last night I loaded up my "ugly" linen strop with the stuff and guess what? HHT!!!!! I do have another linen strop left untreated, but I'd definately recommend having a treated on on hand, it just makes the shave so much easier!

-Matt-

Last edited:
I use CBN 0.125 I like it better than diamond spray because IMHO it leaves a smoother edge, same keenness just smoother

R

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
I use CBN 0.125 I like it better than diamond spray because IMHO it leaves a smoother edge, same keenness just smoother

R