What's new

Tallow Based Soaps

I'm new to soaps. I generally have found I like creams because I am lazy and haven't wanted to spend a lot of time lathering.

Then something happened. I bought some MWF just for kicks and found that lathering with a soap is actually fun, albeit a bit challenging. Definitely requires more work, but can be more rewarding. I find myself reaching for it more than I thought I ever would.

I've decide to start exploring and experimenting with soaps. I will get around to trying them all at some point, but I want to start with tallow based soaps. I know they can be good without tallow, but I want to start somewhere and move around sampling different types and brands.

That said, here is the question: Which soaps, in their current and latest formulation, are tallow based? I don't really like chasing around vintage or discontinued recipes (although I don't doubt that many of them are superior to today's offerings as seems to be the case with Pens soaps, etc.).

Art of Shaving
Czech and Speake
Valobra Stick (all three made by Valobra)
DR Harris
Mitchell's Wool Fat
Palmolive Stick
Wilkinson's Sword Stick
Speick Stick
Tabac
Irisch Moos
Cella
Queen Charlotte
Williams
Arko
Erasmic

Last edited:
Art of Shaving
Czech and Speake
Valobra Stick (all three made by Valobra)
DR Harris
Mitchell's Wool Fat
Palmolive Stick
Wilkinson's Sword Stick
Speick Stick
Tabac
Irisch Moos

Thanks for the list. I thought AoS was no longer tallow based now that P&G took over? Can anyone confirm?

Don't even joke about that.

No, it is still tallow. Which now I will order a few pucks, just in case.:blushing:

I have a hair trigger for notice of a reformulation or discontinuation of the product. As soon as I get a whiff of that, I will hop in a cab to go downtown and get like 20 pucks.

I have a hair trigger for notice of a reformulation or discontinuation of the product. As soon as I get a whiff of that, I will hop in a cab to go downtown and get like 20 pucks.