What's new

Traveling?

I am new to using a brush and proper shaving. I just got a badger brush and don't want to ruin it by packing it wrong. I can't justify spending the money on a travel brush at this point. What is the best way to pack my brush for travel to prevent damage?

You can buy a plastic travel tube (WCS has one), or - depending on the size of your brush - use a large prescription pill bottle.

Make sure to drill some holes - you want air circulating to help dry out the brush.

You can get a REALLY big pill bottle at the pharmacy (and punch a couple holes in the top).

I have a could Crystal Light containers (the plastic tube like containers that used to have packets of powder in them) that work very well, even for larger brushes (and straights, or small bottles of AS, Cologne, etc).

I have used a toilet paper tube for short trips, not checking luggage.

Muhle makes a small travel tube that fits most brushes.

Simpson makes a travel tube that fits many of their smaller brushes (or any smaller brush really).

hope that helps!

You could spend ~$10 on an Omega boar and use it for travel. Not too big an investment for the peace of mind. Boars are useful and quite capable.

Awesome, thanks for the ideas guys. I going to start sifting around the house to see if I can find something to use.

Slash McCoy

I freehand dog rockets
I am new to using a brush and proper shaving. I just got a badger brush and don't want to ruin it by packing it wrong. I can't justify spending the money on a travel brush at this point. What is the best way to pack my brush for travel to prevent damage?

attachment.php

and here is the thread:

Pill bottles work just fine. Fancy pants padding around the handle optional. But I like my "pipe bomb" travel case made from PVC pipe and fittings. Pretty near crush proof. Drill ventilation holes or not, as you please.