What's new

Newbie just starting out

Hi everyone!

So I think the last time I held a DE razor is when my dad would let me shave with no blade! Ya, I was young. A few people I know have made the switch to a DE and won't look back. I have to give this an honest try!

They all bought new and the contenders seem to be Merkur HD34C, 38C and I have heard good reviews for Edwin Jagger DE89L. I am also intrigued by the older adjustables.

So the question is with all the choices and not wanting to get a bad experience the first go around, does any stand out more than any other? Does one have a certain advantage? I am new to this so I need advice.

I have always used cartridges but I have always used a brush and soap to shave so I'm halfway there! Haha. I was going to get a sampler pack of blades but the razor itself, I have no clue.

What do the experts say to lean to for a razor?

Thanks, Scott

Welcome to B&B, Scott.

There are many good razors out there. I also like adjustables and the slim is one that is not overpriced and does a great job.

Welcome to B&B, Scott!

The Merkur and EJ razors that you mention are all superb, relatively mild, and great to start out with. Come to that, they are great for experienced shavers also. The Merkurs are slightly more aggressive than the EJ89L.

I'd say go for the EJ. Save the adjustable for later. I spent way to much time trying to get my Merkur Progress dialed into the right setting, which would have been better spent learning about the angle.

Welcome to B&B, Scott.

There are many good razors out there. I also like adjustables and the slim is one that is not overpriced and does a great job.

Welcome, Scott!

+1 to this plug for the slim. If you do go the adjustable route, set it at a specific number (like 3 or 4 (mild)) and stick with it for the first few weeks. Resist the temptation to fiddle until your technique falls into place.

I also like the merkur progress, if you're thinking about something new-production.