What's new

Grill help

Hello all.
As with all major purchases lately, I am here to ask my B&B bretheren for their input.
I have recently decided to NOT design a build a full-scale outdoor kitchen/bar/grillery. Instead, I am just going to buy a low/mid level gas (LP) grill.

Thoughts and opinions please, on the best sub-$1,000 grill out there for the occassional weekend griller? I am not very experienced, and I don't get fancy. No need for the amazing options, smoker, rotiserie, etc. Just a good, works well, will last decently grill. Side-burner is a plus.
Looked at the weber E-320 for a beginning comparison purposes. Other options, opinions?

Many, many thanks as always.

Well, a campfire is more basic. Thanks, but looking for a gas grill, and in my pricerange, I think I can do a little nicer and more full-featured. Already got a smokey joe for car-camping.

Edit: Sorry, just re-read and realized my response was pretty snarky. Was just typing fast and responded quickly, I do appreciate the throught!

Last edited:
Forget the gas and do it right! Just buy a Weber charcoal kettle.:thumbup1:

I would, but then what happens is I start looking at all I can do with charcoal, and then I'm looking at the Big Green Egg, and then my wife reminds me that this is going overboard for the amount of times we grill (she's right), and then I don't buy anything, and I'm left without a grill (our built in was destroyed this winter).

As far as Gas goes, I'm a big fan of the Weber "Q" series. They are portable, but you can buy a stand for them. Unless you are grilling an entire side of beef, this grill gives pretty decent real estate. Otherwise, I'm always a huge fan of the classic Weber charcoal grill. I cooked/smoked our Thanksgiving turkey on one last year. Best turkey we have ever made. I always do my best grilling over charcoal. I can just never get the temp and zones right with gas.