What's new

synthetic brush? super badger?

Hi! thank you ALL for your help! I am new to straight razors, and have one brush. kent pure badger.

i just ordered a simpson from Jarrod. at the superior shave. i am anxious to get it!

what do all you experts think about a synthetic brush? my goal is to have 4 brushes and 4 razors!

what is your opinion about paying more for a simpsons super badger?

thanks again

Bob

By all accounts, today's synthetic brushes are far superior to those from not too long ago. Omega and ToBS both make models that are highly regarded. As for Simpson Super, they're fantastic brushes. Which one did you get?

i did not get Super, i think persian jar best.

still learning to shave with a straight razor, it has been around 2 weeks. bad news: not complete shave. good news, no cuts.

i do find it hard to strop the razor. cannot tell if i am doing it right.

thanks

bob

A thought for you. For most (at least for me:lol:) it's more about the face feel than the materials.

I can see the intellectual appeal to thinking "I have a boar, a badger, a horse and a synthetic. I have all my bases covered." I would caution against that "logic".

There is huge variation between different grades of badger and between badgers with the same hair but different "architectures"... Density, loft, knot size etc. A Chubby 2 in best will feel very different from your PJ. Even changing sizes sighing a range can completely change your experience (say PJ2 & PJ3)

The same considerations apply to all the other knot materials. You may find you love a Semogue 1305 but hate(? Too strong!) an Omega 20102.

Your Simpson will be a good middle of the field brush to give you and idea whether you prefer something more scrubby, more luxurious, whatever. I would give yourself a couple months with it to see how your perceptions/preferences develop.

Enjoy your new brush and post impressions as your tastes evolve.:thumbup:

Ken