What's new

Recommend first fountain pen

Hi all,

OK, after getting into traditional wet shaving, my next venture is to find a nice pen. I'm interested in getting a good, usable fountain pen. I want something classier than writing with a ball point, that I can use regularly.

I'm new to this, so I'm asking. Should I start with a new pen, like a Lamy Safari? Or should I go vintage? Parker 51? If so, I would prefer to buy one that is currently operational since I'm new to this. What kind of price range are we talking? (keep it reasonable since this is my first)

Help me decide on my first fountain pen! Let's hear your recommendations...

I am obsessed with Montblanc. I would buy a Montblanc Meisterstuck LeGrande model, The vintage ones are reffered to as a Meisterstuck 149 or Diplomat. I would most certainly avoid ebay for montblanc products though. I have been burned a couple times,\cheers

I would suggest visiting a pen dealer -- it appears there is one is KC:
http://www.penplace.com/info.html to try out a few. You can find a Waterman, Pilot, Lamy, Parker, and Pelikan for under $100 -- they're all excellent pens, but all quite different in terms of feel. The "best" pen is the one you will enjoy using.

+1 good advice. I had 3 Mont Blanc's and sold them. I didn't like them. I'm sure to get slammed by MB fan's, but they just weren't for me. I have had alot of luck with Lamy, Pilot, Shaeffer, and alot with the one's I make. (from kits). I always have a FP with me.

Good Luck with what ever you choose.

Tim

http://www.penplace.com/info.html to try out a few. You can find a Waterman, Pilot, Lamy, Parker, and Pelikan for under $100 -- they're all excellent pens, but all quite different in terms of feel. The "best" pen is the one you will enjoy using.