What's new

Black Arkansas?

It has been suggested to me that something called a Black or Surgical Arkansas stone would be an excellent finishing stone. Can anyone shed some light on this for me?

I should add that to this point my limited honing arsenal consists of Nortons. They seem very easy to use, but I am a relative novice in the honing art.

Last edited:
I've not used a modern surgical black arkansas. But I've used vintage hard arkansas that were black (and look similar to the surgical blacks, some of the "Black" hard arkansas I see today without the surgical label look much lighter and have a visual texture that the vintage ones lack).

They work quite well, perhaps even a tiny bit better than my vintage translucent hard arkansas.

I however find them to work best as a finisher on top of a finisher. Coticule followed by Arkansas is great, it changes the character of the edge and sharpens it a bit further. While it's certainly able to be done, I find that going from say a Norton 8000 to an Arkansas isn't ideal because a properly used arkansas is an EXTREMELY slow cutter for a razor, that's why I like them to smooth out bevels and edges after a hone that is already a "finisher". If your current highest grit stone is a Norton 8000, I'd recommend a Coticule as the next step. Going from 8000 to a very light slurried coticule and then doing 2-3 dilutions and finishing on water is a technique I used for close to a year very regularly.

So would it make sense then to get maybe a C12K in between? Or should I just scrap the whole idea and jump into learning coticules?

They are a very hard classic natural stone used by Dr's and in shops and science labs across the State. My Dad and my HS shop teacher swore by them for putting the final touch on carving tools and pocket knives. My Barber used one to touch up his razors between their annual trip to Memphis for a Pro Job.