What's new

So the AD begins

I'm just over a week in and I can feel the AD begining.

I'm planning on getting the Truefitt and Hill sample packs and a starter set from The Traditional Shaving company.

However with this set you can choose your razor. The standard option is the Murker 34c HD, but you can also choose the Edwin Jagger DE86.

I'm drawn towards the EJ as I can match the razor handle with the handle of the brush:blush:

So I guess my question is: Is there much difference between these razors shave quality for a complete newbie like me.

Last edited:
Roy, both are excellent razors, and either would suit you. Edwin Jagger is well known for the quality of it's finish and the razor you mention is a superb shaver. I prefer the chrome handled one as it seems to have a better balance than the polyester, but that is just my opinion, and I don't really understand why that should be. The Merkur is slightly more aggressive than the EJ, I get a slightly better shave still with it, but the downside is the finish. Not poor, but lacking the EJ quality. You take your pick.

Roy, both are excellent razors, and either would suit you. Edwin Jagger is well known for the quality of it's finish and the razor you mention is a superb shaver. I prefer the chrome handled one as it seems to have a better balance than the polyester, but that is just my opinion, and I don't really understand why that should be. The Merkur is slightly more aggressive than the EJ, I get a slightly better shave still with it, but the downside is the finish. Not poor, but lacking the EJ quality. You take your pick.

many thanks

Roy

it beats me why people prefer a razor that looks glossy and shiny over one that performs better.

the 34C is the working man's razor, for the one who only cares about results. its a better shaver.

it beats me why people prefer a razor that looks glossy and shiny over one that performs better.