What's new

Alum block?

hey fellow badger lovers,

haha. I'm new to wetshaving, and just wondering if any of you could shed some light on what an 'alum block' actually is? What is it's purpose? When do you use it? Is it ok to use for people with sensitive skin which is prone to ingrown hairs and acne?

If there are any australians here, do you know if they're available in stores around Sydney?

Thanks gentlemen,

Steve

Howdy Steve, welcome to B&B. I don't use an Alum block, only because I have not had any money to spare, I seem to waste all mine on new soaps and creams :biggrin:

But it's my understanding that an Alum block helps close your pores after a shave, as well as sooth any razor burn and help seal up any small nicks or cuts you may have. I believe you either wet the alum block first, or use a dry alum block on a wet face and rub it around. I hope I described it correctly, if I did not hopefully some of the older wiser members will correct me.

Enjoy!

Welcome!

Read this thread.

An alternative to the alum block could be witch hazel.

Personally, I only use the alum block when I nick myself because it makes my skin go red. But others love it! I recommend you try it out and see if you like it.

I liked an alum block initially, but it really didn't do much for me other than light to medium burn. I hear the Shavex block does not burn the same as the $4 crystal deodorant I bought, but it's not worth $15-20 to me to find out. When I started method shaving, it REALLY burned. Worse than alcohol based aftershave! As I got better at zero pressure, it moved back to a mild burn.

I have now mostly relegated it to my fingertips where it gives me a great grip on the razor. It really removes the slickness.

Brad

From the Guide to Gourmet Shaving: