What's new

changed my grip, and it changed my shave

So, i had sort of plateaued (is that a word?) with regard to shave quality. I'm still very much a noob, for sure, but was getting frustrated with the lack of progress and caught myself being tempted by the ol' trac II.

Then, as I was surfing the posts on B&B, I saw a bit of advice that countered what I had picked up somewhere in all the tutorial, tips, etc. I studied while getting started; the poster advised someone to grip the razor closer to the head to keep it more stable. All this time I had been gripping low to allow the razor's head and gravity do the work and my neck was paying the price. The grip was also similar to a cartridge grip, so it felt more natural I think.

Skip to yesterday a.m; I gripped a little higher and kept the "no pressure" mantra in mind. Lo and behold, my best shave yet. 2 passes, with and across, got me DFS, bordering on BBS on the face AND Big and) DFS on my neck with zero irritation, even on my swirly trouble spot. hallelujah, what a breakthrough! If I can find that post again, I'll offer a true thanks and credit their way:thumbup:

Thanks, I just might try that when i stop bleeding long enough to shave again.

Just kidding my second shave was far better than the 6 niks the first time.

Thumb and index finger where the handle meets the head.
Pinky against the end of the handle. Other 2 fingers stabilizing.
No slippage guaranteed!

I read this tip that Chris posted a couple of months ago, and it really improved my angle and pressure control. AKA "Throwing darts" :thumbup1:

Bravo for finding this tip and using it! I have better luck shaving this way also, using a light grip near the head for a nice balance.

That's very interesting. I might try it.

My shaves had leveled off in quality and I experimented with the angle but I never thought of holding it closer to the head.