What's new

shakin_jake here, official N00b straight razor aficionado=:-)

Hello Gents, I thought I'd come by these here parts (straight razor forum) and introduce myself. And what prompted me to post tonight (er, early this morning=:), I had my first truly, kick butt straight razor shave Sunday night, and I wanted to acknowledge a few of the gentlemen here that have been responsible for my progress

First off, although I'm fairly new to wet shaving, I'm 54 so I've been slinging a razor around my face for a few years prior. I started w/a DE about 6 weeks ago and it was 3 weeks ago last Friday that I bought my first straight razor from the affable Jarrod Connerty (thesuperiorshave.com). I'm only a few hours ride from Jarrod's shop so I made my way up there with the intention of bringing home a straight razor, strop and a hone to sharpen the razor. I met those objectives and have been using the straight most every night to shave with

Prior to actually buying a straight razor, I'd been PMing with Luc (regarding straight razors) as I have read where he's shaved steady with one for a bit and after reading what Luc had to say to me (pointing me to particular threads and videos), I decided to take the plunge and visit Jarrod's shop firsthand to acquire the appropriate schwag

While Luc and others concentrated on learning the straight before learning to hone, I decided to lump the two tasks together. I've been sharpening my ZRT mower's grass cutting blades on a rotary blade grinder since 2003 (every 5 hours use, each blade) so I thought how difficult could it be to learn straight razor honing? Like most esoteric pursuits, it's an art, but I'm a program guy so with the right instruction I can accomplish just about anything if I put my mind to
=:)