What's new

Stropping question

Does stropping on an unpasted leather hanging strop increase the keeness of the blade?

Rich

“All good things arrive unto them that wait – and don’t die in the meantime.” – Mark Twain

Using a plain leather strop dresses the edge. It does nothing to sharpen the razor. I realize some will argue that stropping on leather sharpens the blade but personally I think thats poppycock. Dressing the edge makes the blade shave a bit more comfortably and is considered necessary before each use. It also cleans off any minor surface rust on the edge and moisture too. So what does dressing mean? Cleaning, polishing maybe some fin alignment.

If you do ten thousand perfect passes on plain leather you might notice the edge is keener. If you drive around long enough in your car the paint will wear down from air friction too.

Sarcasm aside I agree with Thebigspendur. Plain, smooth leather is not abbrasive enough to viably sharpen your edge.

I'm new at this, too, but a link to this site was posted the other day, which explains straight razors in depth. I don't know enough to either validate it or dispute it, but it explains that stropping--and I believe they're saying to use paste only to treat the leather, not as an abrasive--realigns microserrations on the edge of the blade. We could get into rhetorical exercises about what "sharpen" means, but while stropping is certainly not honing, to my mind at least if realigning the edge means it cuts whiskers better and is sharper, then it's a form of sharpening, albeit on some microscopic level.

If you do ten thousand perfect passes on plain leather you might notice the edge is keener. If you drive around long enough in your car the paint will wear down from air friction too.

Sarcasm aside I agree with Thebigspendur. Plain, smooth leather is not abbrasive enough to viably sharpen your edge.