What's new

Newbie here and to straight razor shaving

Hello, I'd just like to introduce myself. I'm Rupert from the UK and, having stumbled upon the idea of shaving with a straight razor, fell in love with it and got sucked in!

So a couple of weeks ago I went to Taylor's and bought myself a new Dovo straight razor, strop and some of their shave cream. I'd just like to share my early thoughts.

Having read here and on other forums that most new razors don't come shave ready and need honing, I made sure to ask the salesman whether it did indeed require honing. He assured me it would be fine for at least a few months and, being Taylor's, I took his word for it. I've had a play around with the razor and, although the after the first couple of shaves my face was getting qutie sore, I seem to be getting the hang of it. At the moment, I'm not going further than the sides of my face and under my chin. The steep contours still scare me! The shaves are getting better as I'm less afraid to apply a little pressure to the blade, improving the angle and my lathering technique. The only thing I keep doing is accidently cutting my right ear as i catch it with the tip of the blade!

Three things that have struck me so far, the blade does seem sharp but I'm wondering whether it could be sharper. It doesn't seem to drag too badly, I think any discomfort is more down to my own inexperience. That said, the blade won't cut a hair that i rest on its edge!