What's new

between SB and DE shaving..is there THAT MUCH of a difference?

Hi everyone, well i'm thinking of delving into the SB world.I've been shaving with a DE razor for a few years now, but wanted to get your opinions on this....is there really that much of a difference between DE shaving a SB shaving? do you really get that much more of a close shave with a SB razor???I get a really close shave now with me DE razor...thanks
fabs

Do you mean a straight? If so then yes, there is a huge difference in shaving with a straight compared to a DE. Is the shave quality better? Well, BBS is BBS regardless of which razor you use.

For me, it is a totally different ball game. Whereas DEs give me a very good shave, their use is slightly on the uneventful side. When using straights I get a shave of comparable quality or maybe a bit worse (still not perfected the skill completely) but I have to stay focused all the time, there are endless possibilities to vary your shave, it seems kinder to the skin and the post shave satisfaction is unsurpassed.

Legion

Staff member
The quality of the shave is the same. Once you have removed all the hair there is really nowhere to go.

Straight razor shaving is much harder, especially when you are new. This makes it more fun, you will be seen to be more of a badass, and women will think you are stylish, hip and about six inches taller than you actually are.

Guaranteed.

If you want to try a straight razor do it because they are awesome and you want to try one. If you already get great shaves with your DE you are gonna be disappointed if you go to straights looking for a better shave. You can only get so close, and you're not gonna be there at first.

+1 on all the above.