What's new

SCUBA Divers: Gear, Locations & Photos

Greetings fellow divers!

Let's have a thread about diving under the great outdoors: Post your underwater pics, favorite dive spots, or preferred gear here.

No photos from me, still getting proficient with the waterproof camera case, hopefully one of youse guys can step up with some images...

I'm relatively new to diving, but I've done about six trips out to Catalina Island out from San Pedro, CA, as well as a lucky trip to Roatan, Honduras. Catalina is cold water! We used 7mil wetsuits and had an amazing time exploring the kelp forests and local wildlife, including the California state fish, the Garibaldi.

Roatan was all about massive coral reefs, warm water drift dives, and simply amazing, mind-blowing locations. There were a few wrecks sunk specifically for the divers paradise that brings in so much tourism to the area. They had a sunken tractor, a number of ships of varying size as well as a decent sized airplane. So cool! The most interesting thing we experienced during a Roatan dive was a sighting of a very large bright yellow-green moray eel swimming away from it's hidey-hole.

Ok, so what do you have to share?

Last edited:
I got nothing to share cause i have never done it but its one thing i always wanted to try. Hopefully soon i will get to learn. Good idea for a thread :thumbup:

Got a junior open water diver certificate back in 2000, i was 14. I've been diving in the waters of Thailand, more specifically around Kho Samui, Phuket, and Hua Hin. Don't have pics of any of that, but I do love diving, and I wish I could get somewhere where it is warm and has interesting stuff in the water. Current location does not cut the criteria. Great idea for thread!