What's new

Cast Iron Skillet for BBQ

I need suggestions on who makes the best cast iron skillets for using in a high heat oven or BBQ. Eventually, I will get a Big Green Egg so the temperatures may even be higher. I'm familiar with the Lodge's.

I need suggestions on who makes the best cast iron skillets for using in a high heat oven or BBQ. Eventually, I will get a Big Green Egg so the temperatures may even be higher. I'm familiar with the Lodge's.

You will really enjoy the Egg; I've been cooking on one for over 10 years now. I've also used it to season new cast iron cookware, but it's hard to beat the old 10" I inherited from Grandma. Blackened ribeyes using a cast iron skillet on a 750-degree + Egg are a carnivore's nirvana....:tongue_sm

I have a BGE and I use an old no name cast iron skillet when needed. If it looks OK to use on the stove, it's probably OK for the BBQ. That said, as cheap as the stuff is, just go with Lodge. It's almost hard to find cast iron that's not made by Lodge anyway. +1 on the Dutch Oven too, though I find that the skillet is a lot easier to get into if you're going to be flipping a steak and such. Just get both and you'll be set. One perfect steak and one good pot of chili will pay for the investment right off. :biggrin:

You will really enjoy the Egg; I've been cooking on one for over 10 years now. I've also used it to season new cast iron cookware, but it's hard to beat the old 10" I inherited from Grandma. Blackened ribeyes using a cast iron skillet on a 750-degree + Egg are a carnivore's nirvana....:tongue_sm

I have Grandma's old skillet too. :smile: The Dutch oven I bought for cheap at the end of the tech boom when huge amounts of online stores were clearing out and closing shop.

Yeah, Grandma's was seasoned with 50-some years of bacon grease, country ham, and other things that are not good for you, but damn it makes good cornbread!