What's new

I got some traffic tickets.

How should I handle my traffic tickets?

• Hire a Lawyer for $350, with no guarantees.

• Pay the fines total $350, and not have to go to court.

• Plead the case myself.

Results are only viewable after voting.
Yeah, I got pulled over last weekend. 3 offences.

Failure to produce Driver's Licence. (I do have my number memorized, and I recited it for the officer.

Illegal Right turn on Red. (The intersection is NOT clearly marked. The NO TURN sign is actually BEHIND you when you sit at the light.)

Careless Driving. (Originally quoted as 44 in a 25mph zone, which I found hard to believe. The officer cut me some some slack and wrote it up as Careless Driving.)

The fines are $180, $85, and $85, respectively. A lawyer wants $350 to represent me. I can represent myself, or just pay the tickets and not have to go to court.

What do you think I should do?

I am no lawyer, but I would just pay. People rarely win these cases unless there is some glaring fault on the officers part. You will either be out of $350 paying the fines or $700 + court costs w/lawyer

Sounds like the only thing you're disputing is the "no right on red." So, is it worth $85 to you to go to court and dispute that charge. . . knowing that you'll probably lose? I'd pay the fine. The judge is not going to have a lot of sympathy when he sees three separate, unrelated violations.

Represent yourself. The officer might not even show up and then it would probably be dismissed. You are innocent until proven guilty!

The license: This happend to a friend of mine, he explained to the judge he forgot his wallet and provided the number to the officer who ran it and comfirmed he had a valid license. First offense so it was dismissed.

The sign: IIRC in California it has to be posted on the red light, No Turn on Red. Snap a pic and check your laws.

Careless Driving: Your word versus his.

Good luck!