What's new

Philips Philite razor

I would like to hear from members that have shaved with this razor how it performs. Is this razor mild or agressive? I have some good experience with plastic razors namely the Gillete click and the Supermax quick shaver and would like to get a bakalite razor if it performs well. I can buy one in an antique store for 14 euro which seems nos. Would this be a good purchase or would I be better of with the Merkur bakalite?

Are you asking about the bakelite model from the 30s? It seems more like a collectable than a shaver, but perhaps someone here has tried it. At EUR-14 I would buy it and find out.

The Merkur 45 shaves well for me. It's a three-piece and is a good travel razor.

Yes thats the model I was asking about.

Simply buying it and trying it is not a bad idea actually :thumbup:. The 14 euros will not break the bank, its just that I make so many razor switches I can never get really proficient with a razor. But I will take it on the skin :tongue_sm. Experimenting is a big part of the fun when it comes to wet shaving anyway IMO. I will post again in this thread when I have some experience with it.

I still really would like to read the experiences of others though.

Bump! I got myself a philite razor last week together with another Bakelite razor. I don't have pics yet, but it's an interesting razor! I shaved with it this morning and it's quite aggressive, a bit of a tricky combination with the low weight. The blade overhang looks impressive.

I finally took the time to take some pics of this razor. The head design is the most striking feature of this razor. The inside of the head is open, you can look straight through the head. I couldn't capture this unfortunately.

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php