What's new

Why does my pipe sound like a "water pipe"?

I recently got a nice meerschaum purchased in Iraq from my brother ( Bacchus Head). I'm not sure if it's real meerschaum or not but it's a really nice pipe. Anyway, the first few times I smoked it there were no problems but now, for some reason, when I draw on it there's a bubbling sound like I'm smoking from a hookah or a bong. I've never dealt with this before but I've never smoked a meerschaum either. Pipes are pretty simple mechanically though so I can't believe the fact that it's meerschaum could have any bearing on this. Thanks.

The gurgling is probably either condensation or backwashed slobber. I would make sure that you are cleaning out the pipe after using with a good absorbent pipe cleaner to make sure it is completely dry when you start off.

I'm still pretty new to this so I would wait around and you will probably get better advice than mine.

Happy Smoking

I'm not a big Pipe smoker but ive smoked one in the past. Does your pipe have a filter, if so it may need to be changed.

Commander Quan

Commander Yellow Pantyhose
Use the pipe cleaner, and try to get it all the way down into the bowl.

Unfortunately, you may also have a poorly designed pipe. There are only a few brands/carvers of meerschaums that care about proper design of a pipe, the rest are focused on carving something that is pleasing to the eye so it'll sell.

Gurgle is usually caused by a disruption in air flow in the draft which leads to condensation. Although pipes seem simple, it takes a real master to engineer one properly. I'm smoked a lot of meerschaums and I've only experience two brands that actually smoke decently. Most meer carvers are good artists but no very little about how a pipe should smoke.

Last edited: