What's new

Edwin-Jagger and Muhle heads all the same?

I'm a newbie and about to get my first DE, just to see if I'll like it.

I'm not interested in color, polish or plating type.

EJ and Muhle are available nearby, and seem to have good reputations.

So, as far as 3-piece razors go, are all their heads all the same geometrically?

If so their $30 would perform as well as their $150+ models...right? (excluding balance and grip preferences).

Last edited:
I believe you will find the heads are the same, the variable being the handle. Muhle has its Sophist range, but that's all that differs them from their Classic range. I'd go for the EJ89L. It's my favourite, and the finish is superb.

David

I believe you will find the heads are the same, the variable being the handle. Muhle has its Sophist range, but that's all that differs them from their Classic range. I'd go for the EJ89L. It's my favourite, and the finish is superb.

David

+1. Go EJ89L

I've got an EJ DE89L. Coming from a guy who's been DE and Wetshaving for 10+years, it is my daily shaver. By far my favorite performer. I'm certain I could throw a sheet of galvanized steel siding into it, shave ATG, and get a smooth shave.

There's even an 89'ers fan club here at B&B.

I'm pretty certain the DE86 and DE87 have the same Muhle head too, just the handle is different (the 86 is faux ebony, the 87 is faux ivory).

oc_in_fw

Fridays are Fishtastic!
I'm a newbie and about to get my first DE, just to see if I'll like it.

I'm not interested in color, polish or plating type.

EJ and Muhle are available nearby, and seem to have good reputations.

So, as far as 3-piece razors go, are all their heads all the same geometrically?

If so their $30 would perform as well as their $150+ models...right? (excluding balance and grip preferences).

Get the EJ89L (lined handle)- same head, and an excellent chrome job.

Thanks for the confirmation guys:thumbup: