What's new

überlather - glycerin clogs on brush?

"Although it improves the shave by making the lather a bit slicker and shinier, the glycerin clogs the bristles of the shaving brush so it must be shampooed between shaves. The slight increase in slickness does not justify the time spent cleaning shaving brushes. This extra step is unnecessary given the outstanding results achieved from Superlathering alone."

I read this on Shaving101. I do überlather sometimes. Is that right? I don't wash brush with shampoo after überlather, i don't feel any problem and i use glycerin too when washing my brush. On the contrary my brush softer after this. Shaving soaps, creams too included already glycerin?? What are you thinking?

I disagree 100%. I have been using uberlather almost exclusively since July 2010. Not once have I had glycerin clog the bristles of any of my brushes. I use a number of brushes: Caswell-Massey Bristle and Badger, T&H Silvertip Badger, Hoffritz Badger, and Simpson Duke 3 Badger. None of these brushes have had any problems with glycerin clogging any brushes.

After shaving I rinse my brushes out under hot water removing all traces of lather. I then gently wring the bristles out, shake once, and then towel dry.

I disagree 100%. I have been using uberlather almost exclusively since July 2010. Not once have I had glycerin clog the bristles of any of my brushes. I use a number of brushes: Caswell-Massey Bristle and Badger, T&H Silvertip Badger, Hoffritz Badger, and Simpson Duke 3 Badger. None of these brushes have had any problems with glycerin clogging any brushes.

After shaving I rinse my brushes out under hot water removing all traces of lather. I then gently wring the bristles out, shake once, and then towel dry.