What's new

Finding a New Razor Blade

How many blades from a brand should I try before I determine if the razor blade is right for me or not? I'm new to DE shaving and have a number of different blades to try but I am wondering how many chances I should give a particular blade before I eliminate it. So far I've used Merkur, Derby, and 7 0'clocks (yellow). Merkurs seem ok, but the Derby really chewed up my face. I used it for three days with little improvement. Now, I'm hesitant about trying a second Derby blade, but do you think I should try more than one blade before I eliminate it?

Also, real NOOB question here, but is there a "top" or "bottom" when inserting a razor blade? I don't see any indication but maybe I'm just really being obtuse.

Thanks for the help!

Though I found my favourite blades pretty early in my search, I think I tried somewhere around 70+ different blades by now. And still when I find a blade I didn't encounter before I feel happy as a kid in a candy store. Most of those never come close to my top-5 but I can't resist trying them. It is called RBAD...

On the other hand; when you find a blade you really like and don't feel for trying myriads of different blades you could also just stick with those. At least when you can ignore the fact that you will never know if there might be a (much) better blade out there for you.

Hi JZ. My first sample pack had 5 different blades, which provided a good learning experience. If I had limited myself to those five, I wouldn't have found my new personal favorites (Personna Medical and NOS Gillette Bleue Extra). I also wouldn't have discovered other nice blades such as the Shark SS, Gillette 7 O'Clock Super Platinum (black pack, India), and the Nacet Platinum.