What's new

irritation after shaving

I'm still learning the ins and outs of wetshaving. I am working my way through a small sample pack of razor blades. After my last shave I had some irritation on my face and neck. Nothing too bad. Some redness and the feeling of a mild sunburn or something. I also tried a new aftershave. How can I tell if it is irritation from a razor that is not right for me or some kind of allergy to an ingredient in the aftershave? I'de rather not solve this by process of elimination.

Hi Nudd,

Based on the advice I've received and read about here on B&B, I believe elimination may be your only bet. Try to isolate a single variable and see if the results change. Perhaps stick with the original AS that didn't result in irritation, along with the new blade. If the irritation persists, then it may be the blade. Otherwise, it could be the new AS. My comments, however, operate under the assumption that your prep, pressure and blade angle have all been consistent.

This is a skill that is developed over time, so there will naturally be good days and bad days. Best of luck!!

TD

Irritation is one of the most common issues with DE shaving, especially on the neck. It requires more patience and learning than may be apparent at first. Un-learning cart shave habits takes time.

What setup are you using? Have you spent time with videos and tutorials? Using a too aggressive setup/blade can be a problem if your technique still needs work.

The most common problems deal with too much pressure and learning the correct blade angle. Let us know a little more about your experience and tools and we'll be better able to help.

Codfish

You changed 2 things, the blade and A/S. If your prep and shave have not changed, then it has to be the new blade, the new A/S or a combination of both. I would hold off on shaving for a day to allow the irritation to subside and try the shave with the new blade only. Skip the A/S and see how your face and neck feel.