What's new

Merkur vs EJ DE89 vs Muhle R89 vs Parker 98R

Just looking for opinions and info on this... I just started about a month ago with my Merkur 23C and I like it, but I'm thinking about gifting it to my brother and trying something different.

Here are my thoughts, as a total noob, after using the 23C for a month and looking around at other alternatives:

I really like the head of the 23C. I like that it's the simple 3-piece design that can really be thoroughly cleaned and doesn't involve any moving parts. I like the smooth feel of the curved outer surface. Only minor neg is that it's a bit bulky and hard to fit under my nose. I don't have any other DE experience to compare to but I've found it to be surprisingly non-aggressive - not a complaint but I'd have no problem moving to a slightly more aggressive razor.

The handle, I'm not so impressed with. It is good in that it's extremely easy to grip. However, the styling and finish looks about on-par with the handle of a cheap off-brand chrome ratchet. Not really bad, just not very pretty and doesn't really feel "nice" in your hand. I probably wouldn't have cared except I looked at some photos of the EJ DE89 in a review on this site, and realized just how much better a handle could look (and probably feel) for the same price. BTW I'm specifically looking at the DE89L because I'm guessing the lines on the handle would help offset the loss of grip.

So now I've got my eye mainly on the EJ DE89, but also kinda looking at the Parker 98R and the pricier Muhle R89. Thanks in advance for any info or suggestions.