What's new

Any male RN's or male nursing students here?

Good field to go in; good luck :thumbup1:

My ex wife is a nurse and has never been in need of finding a job. I worked for a hospital system in IT and they were always looking for good nurses. Hard to beat the starting income, and if you are good, the money keeps coming.

A good friend of mine is a male RN. He told me only a few males were in his whole graduating class and they got recruited like crazy over the females. He makes crazy money too, but part of that is because he works a few different jobs and 60+ hours/week.

Working on my pre-reqs right now. I have a few friends who are nurses and also happen to be male. A couple of my friends are NPs/APNs.

Hi,

I graduated with a diploma in 1972 as an RN. I went back to school and finished my BSN in 1978. I finally retired a few years back but will likely re-up and work part time. In my experience, nursing is a woman's world and you will need to employ the "Jackie Robinson effect". That is, you must be twice as good to be considered acceptable. If you can accept that, you will thrive.
When the women get to be too much at work, this is a simple 'push back' that won't get you back stabbed by your colleagues: If your nursing unit has a single staff bathroom - leave the toilet seat in the up position when you are finished. It drives them nuts:lol:

Best of luck,

Brian

Hello! I have been a nurse for over 25 years (when I grow up, I wanna be an engineer like my avatar). My specialty is emergency nursing, although I am a board certified staff nurse educator now. I still pick up time as a staff RN in an ER here in Philly. Working extra for $$$ can be a side benefit to nursing. An earlier poster is right; nurses always find work.