What's new

Post-newbie neck irritation. Biggest variable.

I am at the point where my technique is good. After a long time, I have finally figured out the extremely complex pattern of my beard growth. But I still get neck irritation from time to time. I have now figured out the most important variable that determines whether I get neck irritation. It is definitely the blade.

When I was a real newbie I didn't see a huge difference between blades. I have now changed completely. Although many gents love the Feathers, I just cannot use them. No matter how pressure-free I make my shave, my neck gets irritated. The Derbys and IPs, on the other hand, are just perfect. Because they are more forgiving, I also get a better shave on the rest of my face. I can push my technique a lot further with them. Dullish blades, such as the Walmarts, just don't give a decent shave no matter how hard I push them. So I need something in the middle.

I understand the theory that says a sharper blade is better no matter what. I wanted that to be so for me, and I have tried the Feathers many times at different stages of technique. I have finally concluded that I just cannot use them. My neck loves the Derbys and IPs. And despite the many negative opinions about them, I also like the Merkurs and the German Wilkinsons.

Michael

+1 to your neck problems. This is my area of greatest uncertainty. As I've been experimenting with blades (I'm a newb as well) I can't really comment on the blade aspect of it, but what I have noticed is the insane beard pattern on my neck. There is one spot in particular that is in a swirl pattern. I have no idea how to shave that sucker without aggravating part of it. Most of the time I've had decent success with just plain N-S passes on my neck and avoid all other directional passes.