What's new

Sensitive skin, coarse hair, looking for a good soap for a ginger?

I'm looking for a shaving soap to either use to face lather or use with a bowl which works well for people with sensitive skin but rather coarse hair (I've got red hair and very fair skin, and while I've been using Tabac thus far because I like it's scent I've been finding that it sometimes irritates my skin and dries out before I can finish shaving my entire face). I chose Tabac because I like it's scent and it's what my father used, but I feel I can do better nonetheless. I shave with a straight razor (one of those "magic" straight razors which use the disposable blades. I'm planning to upgrade to a dovo in the near future but as a starving college student I can't exactly afford the blade/stones/strop combo just yet). But nevertheless I was looking for any advice on a great soap to use which meets my needs as well as any other pieces of advice you all would be willing to give to a shaving neophyte!

Also, I currently face lather and have a relatively cheap brush but I'd be happy to switch to bowl lathering if I'm going to end up with a better lather, a closer shave, and hopefully less skin irritation.

Most reactions are due to the fragrance used or one of the components (just found out the lanolin in MWF gets me if I use it everyday, occasional use was always fine)

So you could try a fragrance free (AOS has a nice one that should work well for you). If the soap itself is okay, you could try a scent (AOS Lemon is one of my all time favorites) and see if the scent causes you any problems. They also offer lavender and sandalwood. Most ss people can find a scent their skin can tolerate, but not all.