What's new

Cost effective way to try blades?

I just got into wet shaving about a week ago and along with my purchase of a razor, I ordered a blade sampler, which contained Bic Chrome Platinum, Shark Super Chrome, Dorco 301, Dorco 300, Treet Carbon Steel, 7 a.m. platinum, Sharp stainless, Astra superior platinum and Derby extra.

So far I tried Derby, Dorco 301, Shark and Sharp.
Obviously because my skill is not on the flat part of the learning curve yet, I cannot make a good decision about which blade would be good for me.

However, I am getting concerned about how to get more blades to sample.
The sample pack cost me about 18 bucks and it looks like other sample packs invariably contain a few overlapping brands as the ones included in the pack that I purchased.

What is the cost effective way to sample different kinds of blades? Should I just bear the overlap as a cost of sampling and order other sample packs that I find on Amazon or other shaving product sites? I am just a student and the initial setup already cost me far more money than I would normally spend in 3 months, apart from grocery. I know it's just an initial investment, so that's fine, but ordering a whole lot of blades that I will end up using only a few of seems like a cost that is difficult for me to bear.

Is there a procedure that a new DE wet shaver should follow to sample blades at low cost?

At this point, I'd just order 50 of whatever blade works best for you.
Spend 4 or 5 months focusing on improving your technique, then you can go back and sample again, see if your new skills change anything.

Have you found a blade you find acceptable yet? Have you been trying one and one and one? Have you tried the grocery store blades?