What's new

Gillette SS question for the Forum

Hi!

I'm just beginning my journey into wetshaving and am looking at Gillette SS's on Ebay.

I've found it quite confusing because there are so many models from various years available. I've had a read through the Forum and, unlike the Schick Injector where there is some good advice regarding which types are more appropriate (J, E) there is nothing I can find on the SS's.

I'd be grateful for people's experiences with models other than those from the 40's or the '58. Are they worth purchasing or should I stick to these two models only?

Thanks for the replies!

In my experience I have found the late 40s and early 50s models to be very gentle, friendly razors. I own a few of the late 50s/60s SuperSpeeds but haven't used them yet. Be aware that although the handles in the late 50s/60s models look very similar, the head geometry varies. There are also the color tipped models, blue tip being gentle, and red tip more aggressive. I find the 70s black handle version to be a bit more aggressive than the late 40s design. Hope this helps!

I have a '51 Super Speed with a black tip and it's not aggressive (I believe that the black is somewhere between the blue and the red)

I have 2 Superspeeds. A 50's model, and a 1966. I use the 66 everyday and love it. It's not too aggressive, but not too tame either. I came from using a Mach 3, and my 66 SS gives me just as good a shave as the Mach 3 did, but is much more fun to use. Hope this helps.

Welcome, Jack74!

The vintage Gillette razors were all quite well-designed. Before the plastic and mulit-blade razor revolution, Gillette pretty much ruled the world with its DE razors.

Now, I would say that Merkur has filled the void which Gillette left behind. While there's nothing wrong with the nostalgia associated with Gillette razors, the prices that some of the models are commanding on eBay are borderline ridiculous. For that reason, I chose a Merkur razor for my return to DE shaving.