What's new

Thayers Rose Petal Witch Hazel Toner

I just got a bottle of Thayers Rose petal witch Hazel stuff from Westcoast shaving and I have to say it works like a charm. My issue here is the scent, to me it doesn't smell like roses at all it just has some sort of perfumy smell. Am I the only one who feels this way? I'm reading the rieviews for this stuff and everyone seems to love it. I was also interested the purchasing a puck of the GEO Trumpers rose soap, but if it smells anything like the Witch Hazel I may just go for another scent. What do you guys think?

I think you need to stick your nose in a few rose bushes.

The smell is not like a lot of modern roses, which have been bred for color, reblooming, and flower shape over scent. The smell is more like old type roses.

I am not an expert on roses, my wife likes them, so I grow some.

Phil

Thayers Rose, a rose by any other name still smells like a rose, hark what light through yonder window breaks
Thayers smells like a rose

but the scent from the soap is much, much more subdued to me

come on you're man enough to pull it off (smelling like a bouquet)

ken

I was looking to pick up some Thayers rose myself. I don't know what it smells like but I can say that the Trumper rose soap smells great.

thayers rose does smell pretty floral, it is stronger out of the bottle or in the hand than on the face. I bought it because it works well with my rose cream. I also picked up trumper's coral which also compliments the rose cream-now I just need some ultra cool weather so my face dries out to use the coral.

I was looking to pick up some Thayers rose myself. I don't know what it smells like but I can say that the Trumper rose soap smells great.

Thayers rose is wonderful, but only lasts an hour or so, then fades to nothing.

Phil