What's new

What's wrong with alcohol-based aftershaves?

Lots of places, even Mantic's videos seem to condemn the use of alcohol-based aftershaves, not even as a "as a newbie, I'd recommend not using them for _____ reason." Instead, it is written in bold characters as don't use them period. Why? Isn't it just a personal preference? I mean, some of these AS's have been around for centuries, it seems...why put the kabosh right up front on something that has stood the test of time for so long, for so many companies, and so many millions of men? Am I missing some critical clinical study that relates it to some horrible disease or the like? I'll continue to use my bay rum, AV, Brut, and dapper-man Pinaud, otherwise...

It all boils down to the standard YMMV (your mileage may vary). Alcohol-based aftershaves work great for some people; not so great for others. Personally, I like and use both alcohol-based aftershave splashes and alcohol-free aftershave balms. It all depends on my mood, the weather, condition of my skin, and alignment of the stars.

It's all about what works for people. Personally I used an alcohol based splash in the summer when my skin is oily and a balm would just make it worse. I used a balm in the winter when my skin is dry and a splash would just make it worse.

It's because they/some say that alcohol dries the skin out. If you have dry skin, you might see that and you should use balms if they do. If don't, go to town!

I get irritated from some balms myself, haven't tried splashes yet, so I don't know if there's a difference.