What's new

Lijun Silvertips any good?

for $29 im not expecting the best brush ever made. ive been using a small EJ BBB for 2 yrs now and i was looking for a silvertip that wouldnt break the bank and ran cross the Lijun on ebay. i read the one review on here but not much info on them.

they look nice ill say that.

http://www.lijun-brush.cn/product.asp?id=37

Last edited:
I have not used one, but other threads on the topic indicate adequate but not stellar build quality. The knots are lowish density with a tall loft. If you are a cream/bowl guy this might not be a deal killer, but if your a soap/face lather guy these are most likely of little use.

If you want to get a cheep quality silvertip, I would suggest purchasing a handle and Super Silvertip (not Super Badger), or Silvertip Grade A knot from TGN and setting it yourself. Or for slightly more money you could have Rudy Vey or Tony from TGN/Penworks make you a custom out of the same materials. The Super Silvertip is softer than the Grade A, but only comes in one size as of right now (22mm). However the Grade A can be hand in most sizes up to 30mm. Plus this way you can have the loft custom set to suite your technique and preference in gear.

Last edited:
They also have a store on ebay: http://stores.ebay.com/nickshave2010

I have a LiJün&1980 in Finest badger (2-band) and it is a good brush. Good density, an heavy, very sturdy and well built handle and a champion lathering both creams and hard soaps. Good overall construction, which had surprised me. I have it since about 3 months ago and the brush only loose about 10 hairs so far, not more than that.
My opinion about this 2-band: a very good brush that performs way beyond what you can expect based only in is price.

This is the model that I have (you can see it frequently on my SOTD photos):
proxy.php