What's new

Newb, Checking In

Howdy Gents,

So I'm brand new to the exciting world of straight razors, badger-hair brushes and (because of the first thing) styptic pencils.

A good friend of mine, who you might know on these forums as Tehtimmeh, introduced me to my first tub of Trufitt & Hill's shaving cream a few years ago. It didn't really take, but then a few months ago we decided to give it another try.

Then on Christmas, my wife surprises me with this:

proxy.php

...with which I promptly sliced my face to ribbons. But the second time went much better, and now I think I'll be ok.

I'm not totally sure if I fit in here quite yet, as my knowledge of all this stuff is pretty basic. But I know this much:

Tom Ford's Tuscan Leather is my favorite of all time
I also like his Tobacco Vanille
Ditto for T&H's Trafalgar
After Tuscan Leather, Creed's Aventus and Windsor rate very highly, and I hope to get some soon.

Any advice as to what I can do to better staunch the flow of blood out of my face everytime I use the razor would be great as well. :thumbup1:

Look forward to chatting with you guys!

Last edited:
Welcome, and you'll fit in just fine here. There's a place for everyone, from someone shaving with a nice straight like you, to me hacking my face up daily with a Dovo Shavette. At least in my case, the hacking is probably actually improving my looks.

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
Welcome to B&B!

Did you get the straight shave ready? Meaning, someone sharpenend it with stones before you used it? Straight razors are generally not shave ready when coming out of the factory.

Do you have a strop? How many laps do you do?

This page would be a good start: http://wiki.badgerandblade.com/index.php/Getting_started_wetshaving

Finally, take it slow and it will be better.

Thanks all for the welcome!