What's new

Jacobs "Damascus Steel" Christmas Gift... is it useless?

Hey there folks.

A few months ago my girlfriend seemed hot on the idea of getting me a straight razor for Christmas. Being the savvy dude that I am, I looked into them a bit, found this forum, read some stuff, and said "hey, gf, go to this website and poke around the forums a bit before you buy something and get ripped off."

Now, Christmas rolls around, and I get something like this:

http://i.ebayimg.com/08/!B7+CoPQBGk~$(KGrHqV,!hsEzMl!gCfOBM1wiZvlzQ~~_12.JPG

a Jacobs "Damascus" straight razor. It looks pretty cool. Then I hop online and find some wary forum posters (on a different forum) saying they doubt it is "shave worthy" and Damascus steel ought to probably be avoided, although no one there had tried this type of razor.

Further, I can't find anything much else about Jacobs razors, Damascus or otherwise.

Do any of you know anything about these? I'm a total noob, but I'm a bit wary of this thing, especially about spending money getting it honed if it's not going to do anything approaching a good shave.

Thoughts? Might I contact the ebay seller she bought it from (or have her do so) and try to return it? I just hate to see my sweet girlfriend disappointed, and I know she's very excited to give me this gift (and I was excited to receive it!)

Regards,

apeman.

Last edited:
I am only an amateur but I do not see why damascus steel should not be able to give you a good shave seeing as there are very highly regarded damascus stell razors such as Tim Zowada's and such. It is hard to tell from the pictures if it is worth buying or not since the edge is not clearly visible. Perhaps a seasoned honer like Larry Andreassen at whippeddog.com can give you better advice. Good luck. I hope you will post here again once you got your gear assembled. Larry can help you with that too by the way. Straight shaving is a great deal of fun.

:thumbup: