What's new

Is it the challenge of the soap that appeals?

I'm relatively new to DE shaving - it's only been a couple of months since I converted from cartridges. I do have to say that I'm loving DE shaving though.

I've mostly been using creams - TOBS Avocado and Jermyn St, Omega/Proraso and some Indian Dettol cream. I've also recently started a tub of Omega soap and have to say that it's a very satisfying process to generate lather from a soap (albeit Omega is a soft soap and relatively easy to get a good lather if you follow the Wiki advice). After reading a lot about it, I'm now considering getting myself some MWF to try ...

So, I was wondering, for all you soap users out there, is a large part of the appeal of using a hard soap like MWF, Tabac, etc the fact that you enjoy the daily challenge of getting a great lather from a soap? Or is it something else?

Happy shaving ...

So, I was wondering, for all you soap users out there, is a large part of the appeal of using a hard soap like MWF, Tabac, etc the fact that you enjoy the daily challenge of getting a great lather from a soap? Or is it something else?...

For me, not at all. The soaps I love generate tons of great lather quite easily. Fo me, it's the process. I love taking the brush, loading it up and creating amazing lather. It's the best part of the shave.

I've used a few creams and, frankly, they just were not as much fun....

For me, traditional shaving is all about enjoying the process and the experience. I can get a great shave with bar soap and a Gillette fusion in like 15 seconds. But where is the fun in that?

Does that help?

Ken

It's all fun. Each soap and cream has its own characteristics to apreciate. Get some MWF! It is a classic and delivers a fine lather!

Fo me, it's the process. I love taking the brush, loading it up and creating amazing lather. It's the best part of the shave.

Thanks Ken.