What's new

Advice on Blades and Frequency of Changing Blades

Hello, all,

This is my first post to Badger and Blade. What a great web site! I am new to DE shaving, about two months now. I have a Merkur Classic Safety Razor, Straight. I have a heavy beard and sensitive skin.

I just bought the 110 Sample Pack from Amazon:
5 FEATHER Hi-Stainless (Japan)
5 KAI (Japan)
5 BLUE BIRD (Europe)
5 DERBY (Turkey)
5 ASTRA Superior Stainless (Russia)
5 ASTRA Superior Platinum (Russia)
5 SUPER-MAX Platinum (India)
5 SUPER-MAX Stainless (India)
5 TRIG Silver Edge Stainless (Pakistan)
5 GILLETTE 7 O'clock Super Stainless (Russia)
10 TREET Classic (Pakistan)
10 LORD Super Chrome (Egypt)
5 LORD Super Stainless Classic (Egypt)
5 LORD Platinum Class (Egypt)
5 LORD Super Stainless (Egypt)
5 SHARK Super Stainless (Egypt)
5 SHARK Super Chrome (Egypt)
5 CROWN Super Stainless (Egypt)
5 ASCO Super Stainless (Egypt)
5 BIGBEN Super Stainless (Egypt)

I have been using the Merkur blades and Derby blades. I find the Derby's better. I have been very careful but have been getting razor burn on the bottom of my neck. This seems to happen more with the Merkur's. I have also been changing my blades every two days. I get more irritation if I go beyond two days.

Is it my technique? Blades?

I would be happy for any recommendations on blades and advice on the above. Thanks so much.

Welcome to the B&B team. I'm a relative newcomer myself. I can't comment on your technique, but I also replace my blades after two shaves. Astra Superior Platinums are the current sweet spot for me. The perfect combo of sharp/smooth for my face, and $16 per 100 on eBay. That breaks down to 8 cents per shave. Works for me. Welcome again. The answers you seek are here.

Welcome to B&B!

Razor burn and irritation are both good indications that you are using more pressure than you think. Try for negative pressure. If there is more irritation on one side than the other, blade angle and growth direction may also be factors.