What's new

Today I am a man.

Don't get me wrong, I am well aware of my gender, but today I shaved my entire face and neck, 3 passes, with my straight. :thumbup1:

My biggest problem was my neck, and I was so unsure how I was going to get in all the little grooves, let alone in different directions without touching up with my DE, but lo and behold, I got it all done. It's no DFS, but better than I used to get with disposables.

Quick question though. How DO you go for 4 passes? The directions and angles seem almost impossible to me right now. Any hints for getting into all the hard spots from different directions?

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
I wouldn't do 4 passes. Keep it at 3. If you can get a BBS shave with a DE, if you do your passes in the same direction, you should be able to get a BBS with a straight. It won't come right away, you will get it with time.

Practice!

Well done! :001_smile

I am still a newbie to straight shaving. But one thing I have found really helpful is watching videoes of others straight shaving. Like these:

http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php?t=136249

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4W44WFTfqzA

I am sure there are other good videoes but I found these very useful for trying to figure out the best angles for shaving in hard places. I also learned a lot about really stretching my skin from both videoes.

Best of luck! :thumbup1:

It's gonna take some time and practice to learn to use a straight so enjoy the ride and the results will come. Congrats on your first good shave only 50K to go:tongue_sm

Congrats dude! You can try adding more passes in the same directions you already do. I find that I can keep getting reduction in the same direction. I have a hard time following the exact same passes as my DE, getting the angles and all, but can still get the reduction I want by repeating passes.