What's new

Mild Razor

I've been shaving with a EJ DE89L and Merkur HD for about 18 months and no matter what I always get some razor burn on my neck. My dad suggested that I try a Bic sensitive disposable and for the past 2 months I've been having amazing shaves. No burn, prickly feeling after shaving, etc.

I love using the DE and I have a lot of blades to use. Is there a DE that compares to the BIC? I don't want anything vintage or used. I was looking at getting a Feather Popular. Any suggestions?

Thanks.

MikeC,
That's funny... I started pretty much the same thread earlier today in this forum, and the Feather Popular was recommended to me. I just asked for opinions on Parker razors and am waiting to see what comes in.
Simon

Hey NR I didn't look at the threads before I started mine then I noticed yours after.

Same thread different title. :001_smile

You can get a Superspeed Blue, which is mild. That is what I am currently using.

There is also the weishi which is a similar kind of super speed copy and that one is mild as well.

Feather Popular is mild and it is a good starter as well.

Many options, check the deals section perhaps you can find a super speed there at a descent price.

David

The Merkur 33c is a nice mild razor. It was my first that I bought new that wasnt a Vintage and its a great go to razor

You could also try a Schick Krona, Gillette Tech.. These are pretty mild compared to your current setup. Also these razors can be found NOS.

Last edited:
When those two, especially the EJ, give you a sour neck it is most likely you. Technique (blade angle & pressure) or prep are the usual suspects. You could try a Gillette Tech since that is about the mildest razor around that still gets the job done. They can be had for very little money (check the B/S/T) so it won't be costly to try that out.