What's new

Salt!

Didn't see anyone talking about using salt with their coffee grounds. I was turned on to this a few years ago and have been using it ever since.

Just put a pinch of Kosher salt in with your coffee grounds prior to brewing, regardless of the method. It will cut the bitterness, and it really brings out the flavor of the beans. Remember though, if you can taste the salt you put too much in.

My Old Grandpa put salt in his coffee grounds for years. He died in 1981 at 90 great and blessed years....I am now almost over the age of retirement...I have been doing the salt thing for over 50 years...sure makes great coffee..:thumbup::thumbup:....Allen

I remember my mom doing that while I was growing up. She said she learned it from her grandmother. It is not a practice that I have continued with. Just lazy I guess.

If you're a Tom Clancy fan, you've seen references to "Navy coffee", that has salt in it. Any comments from Navy folks? My mom was a WAVE during WWII and never heard of it (but she was stationed at MIT).

Another additive I've heard of is adding egg shells to the grounds to promote clarity.

Another additive I've heard of is adding egg shells to the grounds to promote clarity.

I'd seen my mother do that too. She said it made the coffee taste better.

If you're a Tom Clancy fan, you've seen references to "Navy coffee", that has salt in it. Any comments from Navy folks? My mom was a WAVE during WWII and never heard of it (but she was stationed at MIT).

I remember my brother joking that he thought they put saltpeter in everything in the Navy when he was in.