What's new

Straight Shaver Interview - Doc4

Stepping up to the podium a lot of times an MC might say, "Doc4 needs no introduction" as if to say that everyone is aware of the fella. This time, im happy to say that Ian needs an introduction because you simply don't know this amazing dude well enough. B&B is absolutely lucky to have him around... and i feel lucky to read his interview.

Thanks Ian!!!

Who are you? / Where are you located?

I'm located in the wintry interior of British Columbia, Canada. I'm married with one young son (who will proudly tell you he's "doooo!", but it's more like doooo and a half) I'm a lawyer by trade, but that's rarely how I see myself. So no lawyer jokes, please.

How do you take your coffee?

Black and strong. If' I'm having an espresso, I'll take a shot of whipped cream on top, though.

What happened that made you seek a better shave, or if the chicken came before the egg, how did you find B&B?

I always have eggs for Breakfast and fried chicken for dinner, so that answers that.

Actually, I was reading the online Montreal Gazette for news about my beloved Habs, when I saw a headline about old-timey shaving, clicked on it and read what must have been an interesting story about funny non-disposable razors with only one blade. Well, there was mention of B&B, I googled, and the rest, as they say, is history.

What was it that held your interest?

Well, it was straight razors that drew me from the get-go. I guess it was the "old timey" aspect, coupled with a healthy dollop of masculine "look what I can do" bravado. You know, the notion of putting a deadly weapon to your throat every morning and thinking nothing of it.

How soon did you did you become a Moderator?

IIRC it was in about September of 2007, so about 7-8 months in. I didn't think it was that soon, quite frankly, but then I went and checked and it looks like this was the time. Sheesh, now I feel old.